How to extract file from multipart/form-data to upload to S3?

Hi,

I need to upload a file to an S3 bucket and the file is sent in a multipart/form-data.

As far as I could understand, the EV policy does not work with Content-Type: multipart/form-data.

Can someone give me some advice on how I can get the file provided in the request so it can be uploaded to S3?

Thanks in advance

0 7 1,932
7 REPLIES 7

Not applicable

Instead of form data, I would suggest to use binary option of postman. We have customers who use that option to upload pdf files to there application.

Hope this information will help.

OK

I'm not quote clear on what you're trying to do.

You say you want to upload a file to S3.... and also ... that you want to extract a file from a payload. So I'm not sure how those two things are related. AFAIK, the S3 API does not require a multipart form payload. (I may be wrong, I am not an expert on S3).

You are correct that ExtractVariables does not extract items from multipart forms payloads. Can you check this answer, regarding parsing multipart form data? There is a Java callout that allows you to extract things.

As far as submitting to S3, that's a separate thing, And I think you'll need to use a Java callout to sign that request, too. Here's an option. and here's another.

Hi Dino-at-Google thanks for your help.

Yes the S3 API does not require a multipart form payload but I'll receive the file and a JSON payload (that is used to do something else), that's why I want to extract the file so it can be uploaded.

So, if I understood correctly, after the Java callout to parse the multipart form request I'll have the file as a byte array in a context variable that then I can use in the flow. Having this context variable, I can build a message, sign it using one of the options you provided and then send it to S3. Did I miss anything?

Yes, I think you've got it.