Difference in feature between Apigee Istio adapter and Hybrid Cloud

claxmana
Participant I

Hi,

I'm new to APIGEE, and still in evaluation phase.

Could you please help me understand when would one use Istio adapter topology Vs Hybrid Cloud?

I understand, if the micro services are exposed via Istio service mesh, one can use Apigee's Istio adapter. Other than that is there any more criteria to consider? Is Apigee Istio adapter is functional rich as Apigee Edge Gateway or does it support only subset of policies and feature provided by Edge Gateway? Sorry if the question is very loose. Please point me to any reference material that can be used to choose between various hybrid option offered by Apigee. Thanks in advance.

1 4 1,040
4 REPLIES 4

Yes, I can help you, Chari.

The Apigee Adapter for Istio, as you understand, is a way to bring API Management to Istio. This means:

• API Consumption: discover and documentation, as well as self-service credential provisioning via the developer portal
  • API Usage analysis - via Apigee analytics
  • API Security - via JWT and product-based Quota enforcement.

The adapter may be interesting if:

1. You have Istio, and want to share some of the services inside the Istio cluster to outside API Consumers
  2. You want the Istio ingress gateway to enforce API security
  3. You want to see API Analytics for APIs exposed from Istio directly, alongside analytics for APIs exposed by the Apigee Edge gateway.

Apigee hybrid is a deployment option for Apigee. It allows you full API Management, all the features of Apigee that you know about. The key difference for hybrid is, you manage and operate the gateways yourself. This means, in contrast to Apigee SaaS:

• you install and configure the gateway machines. (These need to run in k8s, in fact in Anthos or GKE)