Get No of pages in a PDF and dynamically update the quota policy

A user could hit an image for a PDF(multi-page) and based on the count of pages in a PDF, I want to update the Quota policy.

If the number of pages exceeds N, then I need to reject the request with a custom status code and error message

I wrote a small code in Python to get a page count from a pdf.

def get_page_count_pdf():
	vFileOpen = open(PDF_VARIABLE, 'rb', 1 )
	vPages = 0
	for vLine in vFileOpen.readlines():
		if b"/Count " in vLine:
			vPages = int(re.search(b"/Count \d*", vLine).group()[7:])
	return vPages

My Queries

1. How & where to add this code on Preflow?

2. How to update the quota dynamically based on the count?

3. There could be concurrent PDF hits, can I use Flow Variable(s)?

4. Reject, if the no of pages is greater than N

An example would be really helpfull

I am pretty new to Apigee, so appreciate the help and guidance 🙂

Thanks !

0 2 230
2 REPLIES 2

There are some subtleties in the solution.

1. First, I guess your python code runs by reading a file in the filesystem.

Apigee API Proxies can run custom policies that use logic defined in python, but Python scripts running within Apigee API Proxies cannot read a filesystem file. So that will need to change.

How will the PDF file be provided to the proxy? Is it passed as a file attachment? as a simple octet-stream? If so , it MAY be possible to rework your code to read directly from the HTTP payload to extract the PDF file. Maybe. I have no experience with that.

An alternative approach, instead of building the python logic in the Apigee proxy itself, is to embed the page-counting logic in a microservice which is installed adjacent to the Apigee proxy (maybe in Google App Engine, or as a Google Cloud Function) and then call to that remote service from the Apigee proxy using a ServiceCallout.