Firebase/google cloud functions, APIGee and api key auth

Hey all,

So I have experience writing the actual logic of microservices but I'm pretty new to the art of rigging them together and the whole API Management/Gateway/Proxy/Specification ecosystem(s) have been doing my head in for the past week or so.

I'm trying to build an API to face organizational clients. I'd like to eventually offer this in terms of an organization holding a set of individually revokable API keys of different roles, but to get something out I'm just aiming to have one API key per org.

I have a definition, in both OpenApi 2 and 3, it's a REST-y kind of api - GET /resourceAs/{uuid}/subResourceB/{uuid} and I'd like to implement it with firebase/google functions cos that's my wheelhouse, but I'm happy to try other backend platforms if they work better. The stumbling block I feel like I have hit is in configuring org-level permissions - that is I need to somehow communicate in a secure manner to the backend service that APIGee has authenticated the request as containing an API key owned by organization X (where my backend service can then handle the implication that Organization X owns the resource at /resourceAs/{uuid}/subResourceB/{uuid}).

I feel like the answer is some combination of JWT and or opaque tokens? I don't want the user's to need to have completed authentication with me other than their possession of an API key transmitted in the headers. I had a look at the Google cloud functions extension but it seems like seeing as it only trigger's HTTPS functions I can't just trust (from the backend's perspective) content added to the headers/payload sent in the Policy there (such as the custom attribute from a manually registered developer's App) - or am I wrong in thinking that?

Essentially I am looking for a way to assert some claims associated with a particular App's API key, in a secure way to my backend service. Can anyone help a hapless developer thrown into the devops arena?