Secure Apigee Edge proxy with keycloak?

I am using two-way TLS communication between Apigee Edge and Backend server (which is exposed using NginxIngress in Kubernetes). However, we want to integrate Apigee Edge with keycloak to secure the endpoint (e.g https://org-name-env.apigee.net/path).

We have users, roles, and realms created on Keycloak and all of the users are managed through that. Credentials and tokens are also provided using Keycloak to all the developers (or Users with different roles).

How can I ask Keycloak or Apigee to verify the JWT token sent by the client without any code changes in the backend?

We want to implement Bearer only authentication. Keycloak issues the token, and then the client includes that (bearer) token in the request that is sent to Apigee Edge. We want Apigee Edge to validate that token.

I am new to Apigee and Keycloack and after searching a lot, I am posting this question to get proper documentation on using Keycloak with Apigee Edge. Any article, community answers, documentation or POC will be helpful. Thanks.

Solved Solved
1 17 4,196
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Keycloak, I believe, can act as an OpenID Connect provider.

This means that

• Keycloak issues client credentials (client ID's and maybe secrets, or private keys)
  • Keycloak can generate an ID Token (JWT) when a user signs in

Maybe you want Apigee Edge to validate the ID Token generated by KeyCloak. If so, then, in your Apigee Edge API Proxy,

1. use the VerifyJWT policy, and specify the public key of Keycloak, or specify the JWKS that Keycloak exposes. This will verify that the token being sent in was generated by Keycloak.