Configure gateway to accept header with compressed JWT token value

Hi,

I'm new to the Apigee Edge Gateway. I'm modifying an existing system that passes a JWT token in the authorization header. We are using the hosted solution -- we don't have access to host server. Our JWT tokens are getting too large. We would like our clients to compress the tokens. The gateway will need to decompress the authorization token before any other processing.

I am currently considering a custom policy to decompress the incoming authorization header. Considering using the gzip js library. Looking for best practices around handling incoming compressed headers.

If I end up coding the decompression myself, I would prefer to use the gateway's gzip js library rather than uploading our own. Is this possible?

Thanks!

Solved Solved
0 2 3,772
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Dino-at-Google Thanks for your response. Our JWT tokens are getting large enough that the request header size exceeds our server default sizes. Basic testing agreed with your estimates on compression, we found a max 70% size reduction on our JWT claims. We will not pursue compression. For now we are configuring our servers to accept larger headers. Longer term we will look at some kind of scope mapping, quite possibly a client-level scope identifier and might well use your approach.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2

What problem are you really trying to solve?

What do you mean when you say, "our tokens are getting too large" ?

The beauty of the JWT format is that each JWT is self-verifying and can contain distinct claims. The downside of that is that JWT can be large, because all of the claims are directly encoded in the JWT itself.