Integrating Firebase Authentication

I need to integrate Firebase Authentication into Apigee. Specifically, I need to make use of the Admin SDK in order to create custom tokens and then verify them on subsequent calls. It appears that a Java Callout might be able to satisfy my needs - one for a login flow which creates the custom token and another that will sit in the policy chain for all calls requires authentication. I suppose I always have the option just to create a NodeJs app proxy that does all this. How should I approach this problem?

4 7 3,083
7 REPLIES 7

Hi Danny, I am facing similar problem right now and looking for suggestions. Currently using Firebase for backend, and would like to create an API and manage it with Apigee. Where should we authenticate api calls? Were you able to find a good approach to solving this.

Thanks

/Viktoria

Hi Danny and Viktoria

I'm not sure you two are asking the same question.

Also I'm not a Firebase expert, but I know enough to be dangerous.

With that as prelude, here are some remarks, maybe this will be helpful . First let me address Danny's somewhat old question.

Firebase has lots of capabilities. I think of it as a broad "backend as a service" for mobile apps and many others. Among those capabilities

• authentication subsystem supporting email/password login, phone login, 3rd party signin, signup quotas, all sorts of stuff
  • a cloud-based JSON data store called Firestore
  • crash analytics framework (Crashylytics?)
  • Cloud functions
  • Hosting
  • Cloud storage
  • and more

When Danny says "I want to integrate Firebase Authentication into Apigee".. that's easy.

Firebase Authentication is the piece of the firebase platform that allows user authentication with a variety of options. Firebase supplies "SDKs" (or packaged libraries) that allow you to drop in a few lines of HTML markup into a webapp, or a few lines of Objective-C into your iOS app (etc), to allow authentication.