Trying to fetch file contents with ServiceCallout, not working. Help?

Not applicable

Hi , I'm a beginner in Apigee Edge. I need your suggestions to fetch file contents using a ServiceCallout policy.

My requirement is that I need to download a csv file using a ServiceCallout and need to process its content.

My ServiceCallout policy is like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<ServiceCallout async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="downloadAPI">
  <DisplayName>downloadAPI</DisplayName>
  <Properties/>
  <Request clearPayload="true" variable="myRequest">
  <Set>
  <Headers>
  <Header name="Content-Type">application/json</Header>
  <Header name="Authorization">Bearer {shareFiles.auth_token}</Header>
  </Headers>
  <Verb>GET</Verb>
  </Set>
  <IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>false</IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>
  </Request>
  <Response>calloutResponseDownload</Response>
  <HTTPTargetConnection>
  <Properties/>
  <URL>https://{hostName}/{downloadUrl}</URL>
  </HTTPTargetConnection>
</ServiceCallout> 

When I try this url in POSTMAN the file is getting downloaded. When I'm trying the same using a ServiceCallout, it is not working.

When I'm print the response (print(context.getVariable("calloutResponseDownload.content"));) it shows as empty.

0 5 526
5 REPLIES 5

If I were diagnosing this, I would enable Trace for the API Proxy in question.

You should be able to examine the inputs and outputs of the ServiceCallout.

Some questions for you to explore:

1. Is it possible that the input variables that are used by the SC policy to set the URL, in your case, hostName and downloadUrl, are not set correctly, to the expected values? If either are incorrect or unset , then the URL used by the SC policy will be incorrect and obviously the download will fail. Reminder: CaSe mAtTeRs in variable names. If you set variable 'hostname' and refer to variable 'hostName' in the URL, you may get a null/blank value.