Why cache when token database exists?

Not applicable

I am new to Apigee and am working through an OAuth client credentials design. One piece that is not clear to me is an appropriate way for Edge to take an opaque access token that it has received from the client and look up the JWT associated with that token. I see that this is a scenario in "Short-term general purpose caching":

https://docs.apigee.com/api-platform/cache/persistence-tools#shorttermgeneralpurposecaching

However, I've also seen mention of a token database inside of Apigee Edge. I see that I can retrieve the data from the JWT using the access token, but I would like to get the whole token so that it can be passed to microservices, who use that JWT.

What is the correct way to go here? I've searched around quite a bit and haven't found this scenario used, which makes me think that I've got something wrong.

1 4 426
4 REPLIES 4

Assuming you've created or already have the JWT, when you generate the OAuth token you can add it as a custom attribute using:

<OAuthV2 name="OA-GenerateAccessToken">
    <DisplayName>OA-GenerateAccessToken</DisplayName>
    <Operation>GenerateAccessToken</Operation>
    <Attributes>
        <Attribute name="JWT" ref="your-jwt-var" display="true"/>
    </Attributes>
</OAuthV2>

Then when you "VerifyAccessToken"

<OAuthV2 name="OA-VerifyAccessToken">
    <DisplayName>OA-VerifyAccessToken</DisplayName>
    <Operation>VerifyAccessToken</Operation>
</OAuthV2>

Edge populates the custom attributes as flow variables prefixed with "accesstoken", in this case "accesstoken.JWT".

Very helpful! That led me to the following, which should get me there:

https://docs.apigee.com/api-platform/security/oauth/customizing-access-tokens

Is it a good practice to put the JWT there? I would expect to have to deal with implications around such things as expiration and revocation, and of course security.