Built-in basic auth option for proxy, or a work-around

Not applicable

I'm really new to Apigee Edge, and I don't even fully grasp what people use it for. What I can say is that I am using it to set up URLs that are protected by various forms of authentication and can receive arbitrary requests from my app for testing purposes.

I have succeeded in setting up a simple No-Target api proxy, selecting the oauth2 option in the setup wizard for securing it, and following this tutorial carefully: https://docs.apigee.com/api-platform/tutorials/secure-calls-your-api-through-oauth-20-client-credent...

I also see that the setup wizard gives an option to secure an api proxy by requiring an api key, or to simply have no authentication. What I'm still lacking is being able to secure an api proxy with basic auth. It would be nice if there were an option for that right in the setup wizard and if there were a tutorial analogous to that of the oauth2 tutorial. Lacking that, I need to at least figure out a work-around.

Here is what I have been able to figure out so far. When I select an authentication option in the setup wizard for an api proxy, it results in what are called policies being applied to the proxy. These policies are a small set of functions Apigee Edge provides to us which then have configuration options. When I select to use a policy for my proxy, I see xml code which describes the configuration for that policy. Every policy has documentation which then tells me all the ways I can configure it.