Google iam sso integration with apigee edge for api access.

Hi ,

Could you please help me to find the solution to integrate Google IAM SSO with Apigee to validate API users. this is for apigee cloud.

my organization is not recommending SAML way.

Thanks & Regards,

Ranganath P

0 3 1,340
3 REPLIES 3

I'm not an expert on Google Cloud Identity, but I know a little bit. For example, I know that Google Cloud Identity supports OpenID Connect flows, in which a client app can authenticate a user via OpenID Connect, and receive a JWT id_token in response. This seems like it might be what you want to do.

In this scenario, there are numerous "actors" or participants.

• the end user
  • the app (or client) the end user is tickling. This might be a third-party app. It is not trusted to handle user authentication credentials.
  • the web browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, IE etc), aka the "User agent". In general this app is different from the client app, in that it is trusted to securely handle user authentication credentials without storing or leaking them.
  • An Apigee Edge API proxy. This is also not trusted to handle user credentials.

Please note: Neither the app (the client app) nor Apigee Edge are trusted to handle the user credentials. Really those creds are secrets shared by the user, and by Google itself. The only "thing" that should handle those creds is a trusted user agent, like a mainstream browser.

With OpenID Connect, the client app "kicks off" the signin by performing a GET on a specially constructed URL. The response to this GET will be a 302 Redirect, either asking for the user to login, or affirming that the user is already logged in.

The URL is specially constructed in that

• it includes client credentials. For Google Sign in, the app that requests a user authentication must be registered with Google. It must have a Google client ID.