Not applicable

Solved Solved
0 30 7,499
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Not applicable

Documentation for setting this up.

View solution in original post

30 REPLIES 30

Are you using Apigee in the cloud or on-prem ? What kind of logs are you asking about ? i.e. system logs or audit logs ?

you could write logs form Apigee to a syslog destination using the MessageLogging policy

http://apigee.com/docs/api-services/reference/message-logging-policy

So logstash already supports syslog as input,

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-inputs-syslog.html

so it should be fairly straightforward to configure syslog input in logstash and write logs from Apigee

Thanks,

Hi Mukundha,

I am basically new to apigee and kinda learning how the MessageLogging policy works. I have created a simple yahoo weather API Proxy and trying to forward the logs to our syslog server. The syslog server i created is working fine as i have a rsyslog client that can send data to it and i can view them in kibana. (ELK setup).

Below is the message policy i am using.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?> <MessageLogging async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="rsyslog"> <DisplayName>rsyslog</DisplayName> <Syslog> <Message>Message.id = {request.header.id}</Message> <Host>xx.xx.xx.xx</Host> <Port>5544</Port> <Protocol>TCP</Protocol> </Syslog> </MessageLogging>

But i don't seem to find any logs been received and seen in Kibana.

isn't syslog UDP?

plus, also check if firewall rules has been set to open port 5544 [either tcp or udp, based on your config]

It supports both UDP and TCP. And the example in Apigee Message policy documentation also describes it.

not sure if you missed this -"plus, also check if firewall rules has been set to open port 5544 [either tcp or udp, based on your config]"

also, are you trying this in the cloud? can you share which org it is?