Customizing the User Registration page

Not applicable

Hi

I have looked through some of the posts here with regards to the user registration customization and am trying to see what is the best way to do this.

We need to capture more information from the users on the registration page and upon form submission, we need to call a webservice and post the data to one of our internal systems which handles user registrations review /approval overiding the default processing that happens with the user registration out of the box

When the user is reviewed and approved there, the user account will be created by calling the management APIs in Edge for Developer.

Would you recommend that we create a new custom form and direct the user to that form upon clicking the registration link with the post back handling the call to the webservice rather than changing the existing registration page with respect to the fields / and the form submission?

I am a newbie to drupal and still learning and trying to see what is the best way to accomplish this.

0 4 421
4 REPLIES 4

If you want to add a field to the user registration form,

See here.

If you use a name for the field like attribute_foo , then that attribute will be saved with the name "foo" to the Developer Entity by the Drupal devportal.

You will not need to modify the code that calls the management APIs in Edge for the Developer creation, for this to happen. It looks for fields with names conforming to that pattern.

-----

If you want to introduce some approval to the user registration flow, you can require admin approval for users. See here for a screencast overview of that. This will prevent a user from logging in and creating API keys, unless and until an admin approves the account in Drupal. You can automate that by enabling the REST interface to Drupal, and then writing a script to invoke those APIs.

Dino