trying to call a proxy that requires CORS & Authentication header & OAuthv2 policy

Not applicable

Hi

I am very new to Apigee. I am creating an Apigee "No Target" proxy that requires passing in the authentication basic token into the header. Then in my Apigee proxy, I have a OAuthv2 policy that uses this basic token to generate an AccessToken. The problem I am having is that when I test the apigee proxy in Postman, it works fine. But when I test apigee proxy in an ajax call, the OAuthV2 fails to generate the AccessToken (seems like the header is not passing through). Is there some existing examples where it address the combinations of CORS and authentication header.

Thanks

Alex

Solved Solved
0 5 3,398
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Just checking - the "Authentication basic token" I guess is HTTP Basic Authentication, something like

Authorization: Basic <BASE64-BLOB-HERE>

Is that right? We don't call that blob thing a token. It may seem to be strange terminology, but it's not a token.

ANYWAY....

To get to the point of your question, When invoking any endpoint from an AJAX call initiated from a browser, the browser will conform to the Same Origin policy. You may want to look it up, but the basic idea is that a Javascript on a page that is served from domain foo.bar can call back to API endpoints hosted on foo.bar, but cannot call to endpoints hosted elsewhere.

There is an exception, and that is CORS - if the endpoint in question (let's say an endpoint hosted at yourorg-test.apigee.net ) emits CORS headers in the response, and handles the CORS preflight request correctly, then the browser will allow JavaScripts to invoke endpoints there.

In short, your API needs to support CORS if you want to invoke it from a webpage. Maybe you already knew this, because you mentioned CORS.

Under CORS , there are several important RESPONSE headers that the API Proxy must emit, in order to tell the browser "you can call me, even if the web page was not served from this domain".