API against backend service that uses xml but not SOAP

Dear All,

I am new to APIGee and API Proxies. My task is to integrate a vendor product's existing APIs into Apigee API Proxies. The vendor's API were designed based on xml, i.e. both requests and responses are in xml. However they are not based on SOAP, and has no WSDL.

The Apigee getting started tutorials shows how to create API Proxy against SOAP endpoints that has a WSDL. I guess I need to go beyond the getting started tutorial and do my own proxy definitions to integrate such a custom xml-but-not-SOAP API into APIGee API Proxy.

Does anyone have experience doing that and can point me to samples? Or else point me to proper documentation or a direction to a solution? I intend to construct proxy for both REST call and xml pass-through call (i.e. POST + xml payload requests, and return xml responses, but not through SOAP)

Alfred

2 4 744
4 REPLIES 4

Hi @alfred lam

Welcome to the community !!

Apigee can be a passthrough proxy for XML based APIs as well. All the examples you see using JSON is applicable for XML too. Nothing really changes. You just need to be sure that you pass the Accept/Content-Type headers so that certain out of the box policies work (like ExtractVariables, XMLtoJSON, etc).

Create a passthrough proxy pointing to your target server (backend) and then pass the request payload (XML) to Apigee proxy, it should send the request to your backend

Yes indeed. Thinking further about it and checking code from more passthru Proxy examples, agree that whether backend is using xml or SOAP should really be similar. Thanks

Alfred,

Good question. first some background.

You said

I intend to construct proxy for both REST call and xml pass-through call (i.e. POST + xml payload requests, and return xml responses, but not through SOAP)