Not quite understanding the idea behind "Add App".

Not applicable

I'm new to the Apigee scene, and I'm trying to make sense of the ability for Developers to add App.

From my understanding, if you're creating a somehow open API, I understand why you'd allow developers to create apps.

However, in a context of a business using APIs for a limited set of clients, I would see the process as "You let the user register with a specific domain, then you associate them with an app you already created and permission".

Can you enlighten me and help me understand the parts of the puzzle I'm missing?

Regards

0 2 132
2 REPLIES 2

Yes, you can design your enablement that way.

There is plenty of flexibility in Apigee Edge to allow this.

One way might be:

• You publish a catalog of available APIs via the developer portal, which is open to all. You invite developers to register, and sign in. Once signedin, the developer can browse the catalog, and request an API key (which means, click the "add app" button) for a particular API Product. Then, the request-for-key is either manually or automatically approved. The developer eventually gets a key. The developer builds an app using that key.

Another way might be:

• You publish a catalog of available APIs via the developer portal, which is accessible only on restricted networks (maybe the corporate network). The devportal allows signin only via SAML, with trusted IdPs. (Maybe the corporate AD, and partner IdPs). Once signed in, a developer can browse the catalog of APIs, view documentation. An administrator manually creates apps + keys and assigns them to developers. The developer can view his keys but cannot request the creation or provisioning of new keys.

Or, one could imagine a blending. Restricted (SAML) signin, but self-service provisioning of keys.