Tutorial for Basic Auth needed

Not applicable

Hi,

I'm new to apigee. The Tutorial to create an API is absolutely good and I was able to create a first API Gateway.

Now, I would like to create a second API Gateway to an endpoint that expects Basic Auth.

I've seen the two Videos on https://docs.apigee.com/api-services/reference/basic-authentication-policy but the videos are so extremely fast that I have not understood anything.

Can you provide a tutorial how to set up Basic Auth? - I don't now the difference between Proxy endpoint and target endpont and also the difference between PreFlow and PostFlow. There should be more clarity about that.

0 7 2,625
7 REPLIES 7

Not applicable

Moreover: what is the difference and when to use base64-encode and when to use base64-decode?

Basic Authentication policy's operation is set to 'Decode' when it is put on Proxy Endpoint / Request - Pre Flow. This will Decode the Base 64 encryption when received from <Source> (An app trying to access your proxy)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<BasicAuthentication async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="Basic-Authentication-1">
    <DisplayName>Basic Authentication-1</DisplayName>
    <Operation>Decode</Operation>
    <IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>false</IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>
    <User name="userName" ref="request.header.username"/>
    <Password name="password" ref="request.header.password"/>
    <Source>request.header.Authorization</Source>
</BasicAuthentication>

Basic Authetication policy's operation is set to 'Encode' when its placed on Target Endpoint / Request Pre Flow. This will Encode the credentials (usually retrieved from KVM) and place it in <AssignTo> before sending the request to Target server.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<BasicAuthentication async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="Basic-Authentication-2">
    <DisplayName>Basic Authentication-2</DisplayName>