How to update API proxy created from open API spec when spec is modified

Not applicable

Dear All,

I have created a proxy using Open API spec (Swagger 2.0 YAML format). First I created the spec in Edge and then created the proxy from the spec. Proxy is working as expected.

Now when I updated the spec (included one more path) but that is not reflected in the Proxy. Is there a way to update the Proxy as per new spec? I am pretty new in Apigee, tried in community and in doc but didn't find any answer in this topic. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Joydeep

0 3 1,898
3 REPLIES 3

Hi Joydeep, good question, thanks for asking.

It sounds like you're familiar with how the OpenAPI specification can be used to author flows in your proxy. However, today that is a 1-way operation, since a flow is derived from rather than associated with an operation in the spec. For instance, you could edit the flow condition so that it didn't match the operation it was derived from, and that's allowed because there is no association back to the operation as defined in the spec.

If you were to update the spec, such as to add a new operation, then you could create a new flow in the proxy editor that leverages that new information. We have been considering whether it would be valuable enough to users to track the associations more closely and to prompt to update flows when the associated operations change, but that would require some non-trivial work, so we depend on feedback like yours to prioritize. (It sounds like you are someone who would like this feature?)

Thank you for valuable feedback.

Yes I became familiar about Open API spec recently. And I would like to use this feature. Because in my opinion we should first design the API layer and then build the API/Proxy. So it would be great if few options are provided as below.