How to include user name and password before I call a secured(basic authentication) web service

Not applicable

Hi team,

I am new to APIGEE, I need to call a web service which is secured with basic authentication,

I need to pass user name and password of that service so that request will be authenticated successfully.

Could you please let me know where should I pass credentials.

Many thanks

0 9 4,947
9 REPLIES 9

Not applicable
@Birute Awasthi

any pointers on this ??

sidd-harth
Participant V

Hi @sairam b, there are multiple approaches to achieve this,

For testing purpose, you can use Postman client where you can enter username & password.

Withing Apigee, what I usually do is,

• First convert your username and password to Base64 string
  • Simply use an Assign Message policy with Set >> Headers
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<AssignMessage async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="Assign-Message-1">
    <DisplayName>Assign Message-1</DisplayName>
    <Set>
        <Headers>
            <Header name="Authorization">Basic <base64 string></Header>
        </Headers>
    </Set>

<IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>true</IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>
    <AssignTo createNew="false" transport="http" type="request"/>
</AssignMessage>

Let me know if it worked.

@Barahalikar Siddharth . I followed above steps shared by you. But I am getting below error.

<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?> <TwilioResponse> <RestException> <Code>20003</Code> <Detail>Your AccountSid or AuthToken was incorrect.</Detail> <Message>Authentication Error - No credentials provided</Message> <MoreInfo>https://www.twilio.com/docs/errors/20003</MoreInfo> <Status>401</Status> </RestException> </TwilioResponse>

I have used postman client and attached is screenshot for your reference. Request you to please help here.

screenshot.png