Error : faultstring": Rate limit quota violation. Quota limit exceeded.

Not applicable

Our product is an add-on application for JIRA cloud. The plugin can be used to bring test management capabilities to JIRA projects. At this stage, we're not using any API management solution. Currently, I'm trying to implement APIGEE Edge. I am quite new to the product and want some help.

1) We've a test case importer utility(java executable jar file), which allows the user to easily import test cases from Excel spreadsheets or XML files. To run the import utility we must give the appropriate parameters to the importer(URL for our installation, Username and password, API Key, Secret Access Key). If connection attempt is successful the Project list box will appear and now user can start importing the test cases.

Requirement: We want to restrict access to our API on per-user basis. We want implement quota based limitations(API limitations) based on every user API key that is unique for each user account(JIRA), there are specific header fields that we send in our API request and based on those we need to say if this tenant has reached their limit or not say 1000 per day per tenant.

I created two test user accounts and generated API keys for each user. Post that I setup the Proxy in Apigee Edge and attached Quota based policy. Did slight modification in the default Quota policy.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<Quota async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="Quota-1" type="calendar">
    <DisplayName>Quota-1</DisplayName>
    <Properties/>
    <Allow count="2" countRef="request.header.Zapiaccesskey"/>
    <Interval ref="request.header.quota_count">1</Interval>
    <Distributed>false</Distributed>
    <Synchronous>false</Synchronous>
    <TimeUnit ref="request.header.quota_timeout">hour</TimeUnit>
    <StartTime>2016-12-14 12:00:00</StartTime>
    <AsynchronousConfiguration>
        <SyncIntervalInSeconds>20</SyncIntervalInSeconds>