How can hide my sensitive data(bank password)using data masking concept in Apigee

Not applicable

@venkateswarlu I am new to apigee I'm trying to hide my sensitive data using data masking concept in Apigee,but i don't know how to implement this concept in Apigee, can any one know about this concept(data-masking) please let me know.

0 8 2,326
8 REPLIES 8

Hi Venkatesh,

In order to prevent privacy data from being viewable in the Apigee trace tool, you can create MaskDataConfiguration using the Management API . At runtime the specific data you have configured in this mask is then displayed with asterisks. Detailed documentation on how to configure this is found here: http://docs.apigee.com/api-services/content/data-masking

nmallesh
Participant V

Hi @venkatesh kandukuri

Data Masking can block data values in XML Payloads, JSON Payloads and Variables as below

• XML payloads: Using XPath, you identify XML elements to be filtered from request or response message payloads.
  • JSON payloads: Using JSONPath, you identify JSON properties to be filtered from request or response message payloads.
  • Flow variables: You can specify a list of variables that should be masked in debug output. When you specify the request.content, response.content, or message.content flow variables, the request/response body is also masked.

Data Masking Configurations can be set globally

for an organization

POST /v1/o/{org}/maskconfigs

or on specific apis

POST /v1/o/{org}/apis/{api}/maskconfigs

Data Masking Payload

<MaskDataConfiguration>
    <XPathsRequest>
        <XPathRequest>/root/logonpassword</XPathRequest>
    <XPathsRequest>
    <Variables>
	<Variable>passwprd</Variable>
    </Variables>
    <JSONPathsRequest>
        <JSONPathRequest>$.logonpassword</JSONPathRequest>
    </JSONPathsRequest>
</MaskDataConfiguration>

Data is masked in trace as below

Body{
"logonpassword": "******",
"name": "first_name",
"surname": "last_name"
}