Basic authentication

Not applicable

Hi All,

I am new to this apigee so i need your suggestions to make an API/webservice. Please help me on this.I have few questions here about basic authentication.Please check the following

1. How to use basic authentication?

2. I need to prompt the screen for providing the username and password?

3. Will there be any possibility to use basic authentication without using any of the javascript,java and node.js?

4. What are the policies required to work basic authentication ?

Could you please help me to understand and learn about this.

Thanks&Regards

Rajasekhar

1 7 2,417
7 REPLIES 7

Not applicable

Hello @Rajasekhar ,

I feel you would find enough details here

Not applicable

Hi Basu,

Thank you

I have reviewed and tried whatever there but still not working i.e., i am asking complete info step by step if possible to make an authentication

Thanks&Regards

Rajasekhar

Dear @Rajasekhar ,

Welcome to Apigee Community. Great Questions, Please find details below.

1. How to use basic authentication ?

• Apigee provides many features in Apigee Edge that helps you work with existing APIs & build new APIs.Working with Basic Authentication is also one among them & certain functionality is out of the box. Basic Authentication policy falls under same.
  • How Apigee can help you related to Basic Authentications ?
    • It can help you secure open API with Basic Authentication.
    • It can help you construct Basic Authentication header for target API where on API Proxy side you can use better security like OAuth.
  • What does Basic Authetication Policy does ?
    • Extract username & password from given authorization header in request.
    • Construct new authorization header given username and password in request & send authorization header to target API.

2. I need to prompt the screen for providing the username and password ?