Node.js APIs and load

Not applicable

My team is currently working on a way to quickly mock up a large number of APIs (>50) for use in proof of concept type applications. We want to be able to build these using only a JSON file containing data in the correct structure as input. We are planning to use json-server (https://github.com/typicode/json-server) and push a simple server out to Edge. After we will use a script we wrote to generate the documentation.

As these APIs would begin being hit we are curious whether there will be any load issues with a potentially large number of node servers being spun up all at once. Could this approach be taken to production?

Can anyone validate this approach or if it won't work suggest another one?

0 5 311
5 REPLIES 5

Former Community Member
Not applicable
@schofa11

Why don't you use BaaS?

I'm still somewhat new to the platform so it was more I already know node and it took me no time to have json-server up and running locally.

Part of the goal of these mock APIs will be to get other developers used to accessing a dev portal to 'shop' for APIs to use in their apps. Can I still do that in BaaS?

Not applicable

Hi @Andy S, json-server is pretty cool! I can see a few use cases for developers. I've tried a few of frameworks out there to generate mock APIs, so I'd provide this post with some recommendations for your consideration: