Is there a Linkage between API on Developer portal and EDGE

As a developer I login to Developer to browse APIs and when I want to subscribe to one I cant do it on the same screen,..In the APPs screen where I subscribe I am not too sure if the product displayed there and the API I browsed are the same..

Is there a way to control that API is Defined and Described the same way on Edge and Developer portal in the same way to avoid errors

Solved Solved
0 7 378
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

As an API provider, you create and deploy API proxies in the Edge management UI. When you want to publish your APIs to developers, you create a API product. An API product is a collection of API proxies combined with a service plan and presented to developers as a bundle. It can also include some metadata specific to your business for monitoring or analytics. Think of API product as a central mechanism for authorization and access control to your APIs.

You developers register apps to access your API products (not API proxies). Typically developers register their apps through your developer portal. However, if you do not use a portal or if you want to maintain complete control over the app registration process, you can register apps by using the Edge management UI. API products created from Edge management UI are synced with the Developer portal. The flow is described here - http://apigee.com/docs/developer-services/content/publishing-overview

View solution in original post

Not applicable

Hi @Vijay Muralitharan,

Apigee provides the tools to generate SmartDocs (in beta as of this writing) for the APIs using WADL and Swagger 1.x. This process of generating SmartDocs is independent of how you define API Products since it relies on whatever you include in the WADL or Swagger 1.x file.