Reverse Proxy Elastic Search with AWS Credentials

Not applicable

I am new to Apigee, and trying to uncover which aspects of our stack we can replace.

Currently we run an NGINX reverse proxy in front of an AWS Managed Elastic Search service.

NGINX adds AWS Credentials to requests for the Elastic Search service with a region, accesskey and secretkey which AWS can use to verify that requests are allowed.

As i understand it the credentials are standard for most of amazons managed services (http://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSJavaScriptSDK/latest/AWS/Credentials.html).

I would like to replace our NGINX with Apigee, but what options do i have to use AWS credentials? Am i forced to create a NodeJS proxy or does the ReverseProxy support this out of the box?

1 4 7,081
4 REPLIES 4

Hello @dkminith!

There are a couple of ways to implement this. I implemented HMAC256, which was based on Amazon's implementation, through Apigee for another client. We issued access tokens from an OAuth proxy, so that protected the API from unauthorized use. Once the proxy validated the access token, then it generated an HMAC signature based on specific headers and the payload and it added the Authorization header with the signature to the final request to the target service. It also removed the access token from the final request, since the target service did not require it. In this implementation we basically swapped the access token for an HMAC signature.

If you don't plan to implement it as I outlined above, then you would have to pass the AWS signature via an Authorization header on the request to Apigee Edge and it passes headers through to the target service. In this instance, the Apigee proxy is not protected from unauthorized use, but the Elastic Search Service is protected. You could implement it this way as POC, but I would recommend protecting the API with OAuth. The AWS Authorization header looks something like this (pulled from the Amazon docs).