How to create a webhook with the API proxy?

Not applicable

Hi!

I'm new to apigee so sorry if my question seems stupid.

The idea I want to implement with apigee is that when an app subscribes for events on our API (so the Api proxy I guess) it provides a callback URI which should be triggered in case of event. I don't know if it is possible and If it is what are the policies needed?

Thanks!

2 4 3,765
4 REPLIES 4

Not applicable

Hi,

This is not at all a stupid question, in fact a very interesting use case from an API perspective to have a webhook tied to it.

We did a similar POC integrating webhooks to an operational flow. On deployment of an API in apigee the webhooks would trigger alerts/notifications through email,text and voice mail.

@Diego Zuluaga can point you to some sample code etc..

-Vinit

I want to push messages from google pubsub to api proxy.Can anyone guide me?

Not applicable

Thanks @Vinit Mehta for tagging me on this one. That's correct @Ilyes, the pub/sub pattern with webhooks is very powerful to integrate systems that are oblivious from each other. As Vinit mentioned above we implemented it in Apigee by creating a facade on top of the management API. Essentially what we implemented looked like this:

Node.js API Proxy Facade ( Apigee Management API ) +

Pub/Sub API Resources

Node.js API Proxy Facade ( Apigee Management API )

Node.js API Proxy is the REST resource. The main purpose of this facade is to augment the capabilities of the Management API. For instance, when an API Proxy is deleted from production environment or a Key-Value Maps is updated, I want to receive a notification on Slack and Pagerduty.

Passthrough to Management API

All requests to the facade on all resources starting with /v1/** are to be piped to the Management API. This can be achieved by leveraging Node.js pipes. See code below:

app.all('/v1/**', function(req, res){ //listen all requests to /v1/**
	var body_;
	var url_parts = url.parse(req.url, true);