Impediments to rapid development in Edge Micro

kkleva
Participant V

Rapid development is a must since I'm likely going to fail way more than I succeed. Here are a handful of impediments I've hit when building micro gateway plugins.

• The manual process of calling two commands, one of which requires pasting in a UID, just to load a code change during development. Remember as a Node developer I'm accustom to tools like 'nodemon' so anything more Cntl+S is blasphemy!
  • Logging to stdout (console.log, process.stdout.write) stops working after resetting the microgateway. This makes debugging and iterating more difficult/time-consuming. Any way around this? This also ties into the previous question. Fully restarting the gateway will restore console logging, but it’s not a quick thing to do.
  • Even when sending an `agent proc stop` command, there is often a node process left open. In order to start the proxy again, it is necessary to manually kill this process, otherwise it won't start because the required port is still in use. Is there a better way to cleanly stop the gateway?

Is this just me? Your thoughts are appreciated!

0 6 375
6 REPLIES 6

prabhat
Participant V

1. If you set key and secret as environment variable on terminal where agent would run, it will automatically start gateway. It that case it's just 'npm start'.

2. This is something we need to look into.

3. Likely a bug which we will look into.

Thanks.

With regards to #1, it seems like this would make the initial startup quicker, but would it also not allow you to start in debug mode as described here? Also, for restarting or stopping, I think you would still need to manually copy the UID and send `agent proc -c <cmd> -u <copiedUID>`. This copy/pasting the UID to send commands to the agent process is what I am finding most tedious, especially if I am starting and stopping the gateway a lot, so the UID is always changing.