Error while implementing Basic Authorization Policy

Not applicable

HI All,

I am new to Apigee and started implementing Proxies . I am facing below error while using Basic Authorization policy.Please help on the same.

{ "error": { "name": "Unauthorized", "message": "User Credentials are invalid" } }

0 18 1,111
18 REPLIES 18

Can you please provide details of the policy? Add the policy here?

The error is very clear that the credentials are wrong. First thing I would check will be the credentials.

Dear @Ajay,

Welcome to Apigee Community.

This policy does not enforce Basic Authentication on a request to an API proxy. Instead, you use it to Base64 encode/decode credentials, typically when connecting to a backend server or using a service callout policy, such as the Service Callout policy, that requires Basic Authentication.

You will use Basic Authentication policy in below scenarios,

* Your Backend API is authenticated via Basic Authentication mode using Authorization Header

Scenario 1 :

Your backend API is authenticated using Authorization header but your API Proxy accepts username & password. If you would like to base64 encode username , password and send it to backend Api as Authorization header then , you will use Basic Authentication Policy.

Scenario 2 :

Your proxy is secured using techniques like OAuth but your backend API is protected using Basic Authentication, & you would like to implement last mile security in Apigee. Like you secure proxy using keys & after verification hit backend api using basic Auth last mile security.

Cheers,

Anil Sagar

In my case , Scenario1 is applicable and below is the policy details :

<BasicAuthentication async="false" continueOnError="false" enabled="true" name="basic_authentication">

<DisplayName>basic_authentication</DisplayName>

<Operation>Encode</Operation>

<IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>false</IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>

<User ref="username"/>

<Password ref="password"/>