Pragmatic REST Webcast: How do you translate methods to be more data-oriented?

Not applicable

I'm Matt, and I am a software engineer at a marketing/lead generation company for higher education. I found the webcast on data-oriented APIs fascinating and am really compelled to start building data-oriented APIs. I'm even thinking about building an open-source framework for data-oriented APIs in Node.js.

My question is: what do we do with methods that just don't directly transcribe to your traditional CRUD operations? For example, I understand the idea of passing some kind of session token with a request in the headers for calls that require a layer of authentication -- but what does the API call that gets this token look like?

In my traditional, operation-driven model, I see an API call that looks like POST /users/logIn {"username":"jdoe","password":"123"}, but that isn't a self-describing API call -- now I need proprietary documentation on the route, the parameters, response codes/messages, etc., making it non-standard. Is there a way to model such a method with a more data-driven approach? It seems to break the purity of these data-oriented approaches, but I can't think of a way to set up more specialized methods without describing arbitrary endpoints.

Examples include:

• a service that receives user credentials and responds with an error or a token
  • a service that emails a user with a special token for resetting his/her password
  • a service that receives a token and resets a user's password
  • a service that refunds a purchase (but doesn't delete an Order record, of course!)
  • a service that expires the user's token (log out)

I realize that you guys probably get a ton of questions from the conferences, but I just happened to find this one very compelling and would like to model my own work after it. I'll definitely be following your future webcasts! Thanks for this insight!