how can i remove %2c from url, after inserted by ...AssignMessage?

Not applicable

Hi friends i am new to Apigee development.

I am making an API call with query parameters.

<Add>
  <QueryParams>
    <QueryParam name="GEOBOUNDS">29,-100,28,-111</QueryParam>
  </QueryParams>
</Add>

But after the call my commas got replaced by %2c i am getting this 29%2c-100%2c28%2c-111

how can i replace %2c with ','

i already tried replace method of javascript, but no success.

Please help

0 3 4,304
3 REPLIES 3

Hi @sharique

Can you explain what you mean by "after the call"?

At that point do you wish to unescape the %2C ? In the API Proxy? AFTER the outbound call has been made? What purpose would that serve? What problem are you encountering?

The comma is not a reserved character for query params, so it is not required that the comma be encoded when present in a query param. Nevertheless, JavaScript's encodeURIComponent() does encode the comma as %2C, and often browsers (such as the current Firefox) will also encode the comma. This shouldn't present a problem as backends can easily decode the parameters, as well.

Thanks @Dino,

let me explain my situation in a more clear way.

I am using an AssignMessage policy to add query parameters in any request url.

1547-apigee2.jpg

My request url with query parameters

1548-request.jpg

Here now the apigee replaces ',' with %2C then sends the request url to target url.

1551-apigee.png

i just want to remove %2C from the request url.

i tried

(1).replace in javascript file.

(2) decodeURIComponent

but no success.

thanks for your response.

Yes, I think I understand what you are asking. I am clear.

What I am telling you is:

The backend system needs to call decodeURIComponent() or the equivalent, on the inbound query string. The backend system is in error.