I'm a mainframe guy. Trying to shift my career by learning Apigee

Not applicable

Hello,

I'm a mainframe developer for 8 plus years. I'm trying to work out my way from mainframe and shift my career into some thing new . I see APIGEE. I started reading through the online trainings. Can some one suggest me do I need to be strong in JavaScript . Please let me know if I need to do some home work on any other language.

Solved Solved
2 8 2,194
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Rajesh!

Welcome to the world of APIs! You are making a good choice. APIs will be the way everything connects together, as the world becomes more and more digitally-integrated.

It's not strictly necessary to know Javascript to be successful and competent using APIs, or using Apigee Edge. But, it is definitely very useful to know JavaScript.

So yes, I would say, if you want to get out of Mainframe technology and into API-related technologies, you will need to learn these basics:

1. JSON
  2. JavaScript - and really learn it. There are plenty of online courses.
  3. XML, XML Namespaces, XSL

You will also want to become comfortable using HTTP and related tools. Study up on:

1. IETF RFC 2616
  2. Google Postman
  3. Curl
  4. Firefox Firebug or Chrome Developer Tools

Beyond those, I would say you should get familiar with some more advanced topics:

1. OAuthV2 - IETF RFC 6749
  2. HMAC
  3. HTTP Signature
  4. JSON Web Token (JWT) - IETF RFC 7519

You DO NOT need to know all of these things. But these are things you might want to learn about, as you go along.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Hi Rajesh!

Welcome to the world of APIs! You are making a good choice. APIs will be the way everything connects together, as the world becomes more and more digitally-integrated.

It's not strictly necessary to know Javascript to be successful and competent using APIs, or using Apigee Edge. But, it is definitely very useful to know JavaScript.