Target system needs basic authentication in header

Hi,

I am new to Apigee. I am trying to pass basic authorization userid and password in the header.

I need to pass it to target server though I do not want to accept it from users. I want to hardcode it in the Assign message policy.

Where should I add the assign message policy for the header? Below is my code in assign message:

<AssignMessage name="AM-auth-code" enabled="true" continueOnError="false" async="false"> <DisplayName>AM-auth-code</DisplayName>

<Properties/>

<Set> <Headers>

<header name="Authorization">Basic encodeduserid:password</header> <header name="X-APIMS">value</header>

</Headers>

<QueryParams/>

<FormParams/> </Set> <IgnoreUnresolvedVariables>true</IgnoreUnresolvedVariables> <AssignTo type="request" createNew="false" transport="http"/> </AssignMessage>

Can you please suggest what am I missing here?

How can I check if the correct header is being passed to the call? Is there place I can see all the headers?

Solved Solved
0 7 1,492
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi Mugdha,

You can add the assignmessage policy to your target endpoint's request preflow.

A good practice is to have the basic auth credentials stored in an encrypted KVM and retrieve the value using the KVM-Operations policy with a fetch operation.

Secondly, you can also use a Basic Authentication policy with the encode operation to set the base64 encoded value into the header without the use of assign message policy.

You can refer to the samples at - https://docs.apigee.com/api-platform/reference/policies/basic-authentication-policy#samples

View solution in original post

Not applicable