Is there a way to setup apigee to use external authentication server

mmt
Bronze 1
Bronze 1

Is there a way to setup apigee to use external authentication server, to better explain the situation:

• we generate a token from an app (test.app.com/services/oauth2/token)
  • we send this token with the request to the apigee endpoint
  • the apigee should call (test.app.com/services/oauth2/introspect) with authentication header (basic) and with body containing the token to verify it.

Im fairly new in apigee and have not seen similar implementations in my search

1 1 229
1 REPLY 1

Yes you can do that .

I assume the generate and send steps, ... you have a clear understanding of how to do that. 

For the "call the introspect endpoint" I have some comments. 

First, if I were doing this I would use ServiceCallout - this is a policy that is included in Apigee and enables you to call out to external services.  Exactly your scenario.  With the ServiceCallout policy you can specify the verb, path, headers, and payload/body you want to send out.  So your ServiceCallout might look like this: 

<ServiceCallout name='SC-Introspect-Token'>
  <Request variable='outboundRequest'>
    <Set>
      <Headers>
        <Header name='Authorization'>Basic {basic-auth-blob}</Header>
         <Header name='content-type'>application/x-www-form-urlencoded</Header>
     </Headers>
     <FormParams>
       <FormParam name='token'>{variable-containing-token-from-client}</FormParam>
     </FormParams>
      <Verb>POST</Verb>
      <Path>/services/oauth2/introspect</Path>
    </Set>
  </Request>
  <Response>calloutResponse</Response>
  <HTTPTargetConnection>
    <SSLInfo>
      <Enabled>true</Enabled>
      <IgnoreValidationErrors>true</IgnoreValidationErrors>
    </SSLInfo>
    <Properties>
      <Property name='success.codes'>2xx, 4xx, 5xx</Property>
    </Properties>
    <URL>https://test.app.com</URL>
  </HTTPTargetConnection>
</ServiceCallout>