I put an API proxy for http://mocktarget.apigee.net/json and enabled Json to xml policy. but I still see the response in json format

I am new to APIgee.

I put an API proxy for http://mocktarget.apigee.net/json and enabled Json to xml policy. but I still see the response in json format

10454-output-still-in-json.png

10453-jasontoxml-proxy.png

10452-apiproxysetting.png

1 13 715
13 REPLIES 13

@basam nath,

It seems you have not attached the Json-Xml policy in any of the response flows. see the text "Not used in any flows"

Pls check your trace session, it will reveal that the policy is not included.

Once you include it in either the Response Preflow or Response Postflow, you should be able to see the conversion.

Yes, and in the proxy editor, you can drag-and-drop to include the policy. You will want it in the Response flow, somewhere.

I did exactly what the sample video showed at docs.apagee.com

Once the JSON xml policy is created where can I add that policy to Response preflow and postflow?

thank you for replying Nagashree

I added the policy for "proxy endpoints" and "target endpoints" and it still doesn't show the response in the XML format.

10460-policy.png

10459-2020-10-12-16-11-36.png

mocktarget-rev1-2020-10-12.zipit looks like you have added XML-to-Json and Json-XML both the policies probably without a condition. so both policies are getting executed - first converting the json response to xml and then converting the xml to json - and the end result is Json which is what you are seeing in the response.

I have attached a sample here. you can try with that.

This is what I have in the sample, if response is JSON, convert to XML. if response is XML, convert to JSON

<Response>
            <Step>
                <Name>JSON-to-XML-1</Name>
                <Condition>(response.header.Content-Type Equals "application/json; charset=utf-8")</Condition>
            </Step>
            <Step>
                <Name>XML-to-JSON-1</Name>