How to check if a Google user have MFA enabled

Hello, I would like to implement google login on a web portal developed by us. I would like to allow anyone with a google account, even users outside our workspace, to access as long as they have two-factor authentication enabled.
Is there a way to check if a google user has MFA enabled or not?

0 1 1,639
1 REPLY 1

This is a forum dedicated to Apigee. I'm an Apigee expert, not an expert on Sign-in-with -Google.  There might be a better forum for asking your question, but I don't have any suggestions for you.  Even so, I like the question, I think it's interesting. Since I'm not an expert, take my response below with a grain of salt.

There is a standard claim for the JWT ID Token, amr, which is intended to convey the "Authentication Method Reference". This is described in the OpenID.Core spec. It is a claim like any other claim (iss = issuer, azp = authorized presenter, exp = expiry, iat = issued-at time, etc). While the amr claim name is standardized, values held within the amr claim are not. You can read about it in IETF RFC 8176 . Though there are no standards, there are some conventions. In section 2, it offers some values like pwd = password based authentication, pin = Personal Identification Number (PIN) auth, and otp = one-time password (the things served up by the Authenticator apps on your phone). One of the options is mfa = multi-factor auth.

That seems perfect! Just examine the ID token, check the amr claim, and see if it has the value "mfa".  Easy . Solved.