How do i verify & validate Base64 encoded SAML in Apigee in IDP initiated Flow

Hello, 

I am new to Apigee..  . We have an application which would post the SAML (Base 64 ) encoded  SAML to the Apigee Proxy. Wanted to know how to decode the base 64 SAML & verify the saml assertions and extract a user attribute... which i use it for the futher flows. 

1 12 2,369
12 REPLIES 12

The Apigee builtin policy ValidateSAMLAssertion will verify the SAML signature based on certs in the TrustStore.

ExtractVariables can allow you to extract any attributes of interest, like the user attribute, into context variables which you can then reference.

The only obstacle is that ValidateSAMLAssertion requires the SAML to be presented in an XML form. What you are talking about is a base64-encoded SAML assertion. Usually that kind of thing is produced by a multi-step process like this:

1. generate the XML form of the signed SAML assertion
  2. compress the XML text into a bytestream
  3. base64-encode that bytestream into a String

This answer provides a way to reverse steps 3 and 2 of that process. Attached there is a Java callout that will base64-decode and then zip-inflate the resulting cleartext. That gets you an XML string  which you can pass to ValidateSAMLAssertion. I think unfortunately you cannot pass it directly, you first need to create a Message object.... arguably that Java callout should do that for you since you will always want a Message with message.content containing the XML string.  But that's currently left as an enhancement for you to make. 

Does this help?

EDIT: I updated the callout from that prior answer and pushed it to a public repo. 

find it here: https://github.com/DinoChiesa/Apigee-Java-SAML-Decoder