How can one determine the required memory for Message Processor?

Hi @dchiesa1 ,

Apigee is receiving request payload greater than the default limit that MP is set to process (10MB) due to which I am receiving: 

"413 Request Entity Too Large: {"fault":{"faultstring":"Body buffer overflow","detail":{"errorcode":"protocol.http.TooBigBody"}}}"

Apigee streaming and Singed URLs are not an options for me. I want to increase 

HTTPRequest.body.buffer.limit=10m

to a greater value. I want to be able to calculate how much memory my MP server needs in order to support a payload size of, say, 30 MB. How can I calculate this?

Also, can you please outline the pros and cons of dividing the larger payload into smaller chucks and sending them in multiple requests to Apigee and increasing the default limits of Apigee?

1 2 95
2 REPLIES 2

Hi @dchiesa1 ,

Please let me know if you need more details.

Sorry, I don't know the answers here. I am not an expert on OPDK or managing Apigee infrastructure. Actually I'm a big fan of using the managed version of Apigee, which is called "Apigee X".  One big reason: I think Apigee X frees you from worrying about the size of MP machines, memory consumption, CPU utilization, I/O saturation, and all the other machine-oriented issues associated with managing your own systems. 

There may be other people here on community that can engage on the question of how to size an RMP machine.  

BUT, 
there may be no good concrete answer.