Fine grain route access policy

Hello,

I'm very new to apigee (on prem), and I'd like pointers on how to implement a security feature we used to have on our previous (homemade) gateway.

Let's say I have a rest API with URLs starting with /users/{id}/...

I'd like to restrict the access to a particular {id} depending on the credentials of the client.

Ex: client A have access to /users/123/...

client B have access to /users/456/...

client C have access to only GET requests but for any user id /users/*/...

How would I tackle that? I've looked into the RegularExpressionProtection policy but it doesn't seem like it can be linked to the credentials (mTLS so CN) nor can I retrieve the verb.

Thanks!

Solved Solved
0 5 147
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes, you can do what you want.  The RegExp protection policy isn't the right thing. 

I think what you want to do is:

• In the app:
    • set a custom attribute to refer to the specific valid value for the {id} path segment
  • In the proxy:
    • use ExtractVariables to extract the url path segment from the inbound request. 
    • use VerifyAPIKey or OAuthV2/VerifyAccessToken to verify the inbound credentials, and in doing so, implicitly retrieve the valid value for the {id} segment into a context variable.  After VerifyAPIKey, the variable name is verifyapikey.{policy_name}.{name_of_custom_attr}.  After VerifyAccessToken, the variable is  app.{name_of_custom_attr} 
    • Use a Condition in the flow to compare the extracted path segment to the valid path segment.  If no match, then RaiseFault with 403.  

Does this make sense? 

The ExtractVariables will be like this: 

<ExtractVariables name='EV-1'>
   <Source>request</Source>
   <VariablePrefix>extracted</VariablePrefix>
   <URIPath>
      <!-- put the extracted value into extracted.id -->
      <!-- NB: The Pattern is matched against pathsuffix (what comes AFTER the basepath) -->
      <Pattern ignoreCase='true'>/users/{id}</Pattern>
   </URIPath>