API Backlog Jumpstart Reference

The first few sprints are critical to the success of a program. Here is a suggested backlog when getting started.

Project Bootstrapping

These are the tasks that might be included in a Sprint 0 and can be seen as prerequisites for development to begin.

Task User Story Notes
API Platform Infrastructure Provisioning As an API Operator, I want infrastructure, so that I can deploy Apigee
API Platform Installation As an API Operator, I want to deploy the API Platform, so that the organization can expose APIs Not required for SaaS

Hybrid

OPDK
Source Control Setup As an API Developer, I want to store my code in source control so that I can collaborate safely with others and track changes Community
Artifact Store Setup As an API Operator, I want releases to be stored in an artifact store so that release management is simplified Optionally push .zip to artifact store
Continuous Integration Setup As an API Developer, I want to automate deployment and testing of APIs so that all changes are testing throughout the development lifecycle DevRel Reference
Monitoring Tooling Setup As an API Operator, I want to monitor API deployments so that production SLAs are met Community
Project Management Tooling Setup As an API Team member, I want to use tooling so that I can communicate with others and understand the project status Chat tool, Sprint board, email alias

Platform Configuration

Once our tools are set up, we can configure them and deploy to them.

Task Description Notes
Configure Northbound As an API consumer, I want to securely access the API Platform so that I can have confidence in sensitive data transmission Configuring Virtual Hosts

Hybrid Virtual Hosts

Configure Southbound As an API developer, I want to connect the API Platform with backend systems so that I can proxy API calls securely Typically involves southbound Mutual TLS and IP Access Control